Part Two…Geotagging – The Digitized Optics Way

In an earlier post, I talked about geotagging photos. I also mentioned how geotagging can be surprising simple…well, maybe to the tech minded.

Several years back, well, actually, many years back, I purchased my first GPSr (Global Positioning System Receiver). I know, it is common for the masses to say GPS, but that stands for Global Positioning System…the name of the entire system made up of base stations, antennas, and the satellites flying overhead. The equipment you use in your car, or in your handheld units for hiking and/or geocaching, are receivers. So, to be really cool, and to make your friends feel stupid, you can say…GPSr.

OK, back to my receiver(s). My first was the Garmin eTrex Legend® (a blue transparent case). It worked great, and still does. I had fun using it mainly for geocaching…like most people out there. After delving deep into the ins-and-outs of the whole GPS system, I decided it was only fitting to upgrade. I went for the Garmin GPSMAP® 60CSx.

By the way, I should mention that both of these units have been discontinued. But, they have been replaced with updated versions (hmm…I might just have another idea for another upcoming post..hehe). I have had even GREATER luck with the GPSMAP® 60CSx receiver. It contains the SiRF Star III chipset and a external Quad-Helix antenna that is very sensitive to receiving the signals from the satellites (also know as “birds”). I could write an entire post about these units and the GPS system, but you get the gist. This is the unit I currently use to geotag my photos.

I take all of my pictures with the Canon EOS 7D…even on my professional jobs. While geotagging, I attach to the bottom of the EOS 7D camera body the Canon WFT-E5A Wireless File Transmitter (an optional accessory). It is a little on the pricy side, but you know me, and my “geeky” side, I had to have it…money be damed!

With the transmitter attached, teathered to the GPSr via the cable that comes included with the Garmin receiver, I am able to have the latitude and longitude (lat/long…abbreviated) automatically included in the EXIF file automatically as I take pictures. It is a great little system.

So, in a nut shell, there you go. Very quick, and probably not the easiest for most of you to understand, and fully understandable, but it sounds more complicated than it actually is. If you would like to do the same, and have any questions or problems, do not hesitate to fire-off an email. I will give you step-by-step instructions. douglas@DigitizedOptics.com

Below I have a picture that shows you the entire set-up, and the camera’s screen showing you the lat/long that was recored in the EXIF of the picture just taken.

Until next time – Hang Loose!

www.DigitizedOptics.com

About www.DigitizedOptics.com

Dig'i'tized Op'tics - 1. Digital conversion of a mind stimulating spectrum of light - 2. Creative and artistic optical transformation - 3. Electromagnetic spectrum taken "outside the box" - 4. A sliver of time that has been documented for eternity Photography and Videography for: - MODELING - NON-URBAN TERRAIN - NOCTURNAL LIGHT PAINTING - RUINS
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

